Metal Industries Windows ( cutting edge )

Ask replacement window questions & get answers!
Ricknez

Metal Industries Windows ( cutting edge )

#1 Post by Ricknez »

Am looking to replace 18 double hung windows. Got a quote for metal industries, also known as MI Windows. It was the Cutting Edge 1600 series. I was quoted about 390 per window which seems cheap. However, after doing some research the reviews have not been good. They range from not honoring warranty issues to the windows leaking air and not being very reliable. Ay feed back would be appreciated.
The windows did look somewhat cheaply made by i am no expert. I only want to replace my windows once and not have to do it again in 5 years.

masterext
Location: Window Pro-Serves All of Northern New Jersey. Bergen, Morris, Union, Essex, Passaic, Sussex Counties

Re: Metal Industries Windows ( cutting edge )

#2 Post by masterext »

You are not going to find an installed window for 390 that is anything close to quality. you are 100% correct though, Metal Industries ( MI windows) make lower quality windows.
Why? The actual vinyl they use is a lower grade, the window is not designed air tight at all, leaks air, the window can warp, and as you mentioned, it looks cheap.
Other brands that are Lower quality/ builders grade would be Silverline/ American Craftsman, Pella vinyl windows, and excalibur. I would never put any of those in a customers home.
I am mentioning these other brands because you stated that you only wanted to do your windows once.

Higher end vinyl windows which not only look nice but are engineered and designed very well are as follows : Okna, Soft Lite, Sunrise, Gorell, and Vytex. These windows also have energy efficiency numbers that are much better than expensive wood windows and that is a reason why those that used to have an aversion to anything vinyl now embraces the higher end brands with open arms.

Ricknez

#3 Post by Ricknez »