Okna Insul-Tec 500 vs Slocomb 144 for Warm Climate

Ask replacement window questions & get answers!
caztroy8

Okna Insul-Tec 500 vs Slocomb 144 for Warm Climate

#1 Post by caztroy8 »

Hi everyone,

I'm new to window replacement and have found this board extremely helpful during this process, so thank you!

Anyway, we are replacing 21 double-hung, 1 picture, and 1 sliding door and could use some help now that we've narrowed the field down to 2. We live in North Carolina and our house is south facing with about half of these getting very good sunlight. The two most important factors for us are summer efficiency and appearance (more glass, less frame).

Option 1: Okna Insul-Tec 500 (U 0.25, SHGC 0.30, VT 0.55, CR 62).

Option 2: Slocomb 144 Solstice Series (U 0.26, SHGC 0.21, VT 0.49, CR 51).

Prices for both are comparable (~$600 per window before tax). Okna seems like the better window but I do worry about the higher heat gain and the fact that it's energy star certification stops just north of our area. With Slocomb, I mostly worry about condensation.

Also, I've read that the Insul-Tec has a thinner frame than most in it's class, which we like. Does anyone know how Slocomb's would compare?

Any advice would be most appreciated!

Windows on Washington

Re: Okna Insul-Tec 500 vs Slocomb 144 for Warm Climate

#2 Post by Windows on Washington »

The Okna will have better air infiltration numbers in addition to the better numbers you have listed there (i.e. U-Factor and CR).

If you are worried about SHGC, ask you vendor about the 5527 coating from Guardian.

That said, depending on where you are located in NC, the SHGC number of 0.30 might be more "right" for you than the 0.21.

HomeSealed

#3 Post by HomeSealed »

+1. The Okna is the superior product via the performance metrics. That said, the installation and company backing it is very important as well, and should be given proper weight.

TheWindowNerd

#4 Post by TheWindowNerd »

+2 to all the above.

gchmelewski