10' Bay Window Cost and Quality...

Ask replacement window questions & get answers!
burrmanchu

10' Bay Window Cost and Quality...

#1 Post by burrmanchu »

Hey guys... new here. I'm a DIY guy and I'm remodeling my *entire* house. I'm good with electrical, plumbing, roofing, flooring, carpentry, pretty much everything... but I have no experience whatsoever with windows, and I'm trying to get a 10' bay window installed in my living room to replace an old picture window and flankers.

I've gotten a half dozen estimates, ranging from $4600 to $14000 (lol). There's no way I can afford the higher end stuff. I was about to pull the trigger on one of the lower estimates, but I wanted to ask you guys what you thought about that price range, and the types of windows involved.

The two brands/series of window I'm down to are:

Vinyl Kraft (Trustguard series) U .28 - SHGC .27 - V 71% - CRF 56
http://www.vinylkraft.com/Trust_Guard.cfm

and Energywall (Energyweld series, elite2 glass package) U .27 - SHGC .29 - V 53% - CRF 56
https://energywallwindows.com/ewwindow.html

Are these windows decent? Is one noticably better? I believe the VK window is 7/8" glass and EW is 3/4"... is that a big deal? Is this (nearly) $5,000 price I'm getting quoted normal? Seems like highway robbery. And what's with the huge difference in V rating between the two otherwise very similar windows? Thanks for any help in advance, I know a lot of these window brands are obscure.

I live in Illinois so it's hot and cold here.

Thanks guys!~
Brian

Windows on Washington

Re: 10' Bay Window Cost and Quality...

#2 Post by Windows on Washington »

EnergyWall is a re-branded Polaris UltraWeld with some additional options if I am not mistaken.

If memory serves me correctly and that is the case, that is your much better option. It is a solidly built window and product.

Triple pane probably wouldn't be overkill in your market if you get a decent number on it.

HomeSealed

#3 Post by HomeSealed »