Residential window replacement

Questions about functions or posting
janetb1224

Residential window replacement

#1 Post by janetb1224 »

I am getting ready to replace all the windows in my house (17 in all). I have had three companies come to the house and present their product. Of course, all of them tell me that I'm a fool to go with any other company. Window World quoted us $4000 for the entire project and another company quoted $14,000. This has left me completely confused as to who to use (btw - I am not considering Window World). Can someone give me a list of questions I should ask when calling companies to inquire about their product so I can compare them accurately? All of the companies I've seen online offer windows with installation included in the price, but from what I've read it appears that I should buy the windows and then hire a contractor to do the install. How will that affect total project cost (I've never worked with a contractor before)? Will that affect the warranty on the window? Do contractors guarantee their work? We may have some wood rot so I'm looking for a company that will replace the wood, if needed. I am located in Iowa and I'm looking for vinyl double-hung, mid-range quality, and I'd like to stay under $8000 for the project (is that reasonable??), and also would like to explore financing. I really have no idea who to trust so suggestions are welcome! This is a big, important investment and I don't want to make the wrong choice and have to deal with leakage, poor customer service, or surprise costs later on. Help!

Windows on Washington

Re: Residential window replacement

#2 Post by Windows on Washington »

I can appreciate your frustration and I assure you that it is something that we hear on a daily basis between the board and between our own business contacts.