Alside Challenger 8000 Limited Edition Series with R-Shield

Ask replacement window questions & get answers!
laidbackman56

Alside Challenger 8000 Limited Edition Series with R-Shield

#1 Post by laidbackman56 »

I am getting estimates for 15 replacement windows. A CVS Windows and Siding (Custom Vinyl Systems) rep gave me a quotes on the Alside Challenger 8000 Limited Edition Series double hung windows. The best window of this series he demonstrated to me was the double hung window with (from brochure) a full 4.5" frame design with 15 cavities, 1" double pane glass, Polyiscyanurate Insulate Frame (graph showing R- Value 25.00), a rigid fiberglass support, foam filled, solid sill technology, with the optional "Exclusive" R-Shield Glass (which he demonstrated to have only a 5.0 BTU loss transfer). The quote for the 15 windows was in the same ballpark as the quotes I received from other manufacturer window sales reps for the midrange quality windows. I am a novice in regards to vinyl replacement windows. The design of this window looks impressive to me. Who has had experience with this window model? Who has had any experience having windows purchased from and installed by CVS Windows and Siding? I live in western PA about an hour north of Pittsburgh. Please recommend any window companies in this area that have excellent customer reviews and product ratings.

Windows on Washington

Re: Alside Challenger 8000 Limited Edition Series with R-Shield

#2 Post by Windows on Washington »

The 8000 is one of the better offerings inside their line but is just average when you compare it to other windows.

I would suggest that you take a look at some other brands to get a competitive product offerings. While the stuff you listed off sounds great, the air infiltration number is average, thermal data is average and the window is just...average.

laidbackman56

#3 Post by laidbackman56 »