Window Replacement and I Need Your Help

Ask replacement window questions & get answers!
chong131

Window Replacement and I Need Your Help

#1 Post by chong131 »

Hello Everone,

I am a newbie and I need your help and suggestions for window replacement on the West Coast.
We have windows that needs to be replace because of poor contruction and my contractor suggests new installation before he will warrant his work for no more leaks.
I am looking for a good quality replacement window that is affordable but will not be crap in a few years.
How would you rank the following windows and any other worthy company that I should definitely consider that is readily available on the West Coast?
Andersen 200, Anlin Catalina, Amerimax Craftsman, Atrium 3201, Milgard Style Line, Ply Gem Pro, Simonton Verona, American Craftsman 9500 (Home Depot) and Survivor Realbilt 5600 (Lowe's).
I have read reviews on all of these windows and I have seen poor reviews on Milgard and Simonton even though it's highly rated by JD Powers. It's also a favorite of many posters on this webside.
Can someone help me narrow this list to a select few that is good quality and affordable?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions to help me make the right choice.

Calvin

masterext
Location: Window Pro-Serves All of Northern New Jersey. Bergen, Morris, Union, Essex, Passaic, Sussex Counties

Re: Window Replacement and I Need Your Help

#2 Post by masterext »

American craftsman are junk and reliabilit is not far behind. I have heard Anlin make a decent product . Simonton is also an ok option with super spacer and steel reinforcement.although they advertise aluminum reinforcement, they also have a steel option from what I am told. However, not being a fan of such a conductive material being used as reinforcement opposed to fiberglass or composite, steel is less conductive than aluminum.
Although I am not sure which series the Verona is. Where I am, it's the 5500 or 9800 .

chong131

#3 Post by chong131 »