suggestion please

Ask replacement window questions & get answers!
rajsir

suggestion please

#1 Post by rajsir »

I am looking for windows replacement, contacted local contractors, 3 people gave 3 different manufacture windows, obviously they claim their is a best quality product, here is the names.
1. certainteed
2. ecoshield
3. homedepot

price wise certainteed cheaper, than ecosheild.

I couldn't decide which one is the best one price and quality. Please shed some light here... thx

masterext
Location: Window Pro-Serves All of Northern New Jersey. Bergen, Morris, Union, Essex, Passaic, Sussex Counties

Re: suggestion please

#2 Post by masterext »

Certain teed is cheapest for a reason, stay away from it.
Ecoshield is made by Kasson and Keller and has average performance numbers, same with the Simonton 6500 from Home Depot. That said, I am not comfortable commenting on ecoshield due to the fact that I have no experience with it other than seeing the performance numbers which are average.
I would expand my search to include soft lite, Okna, Sunrise , himark. These are some high quality brands that most pro's will always feel confident recommending.
Things to look for:
1) A true welded sloped sill( no pocket sills or snap in slopes) no matter what you are told by a salesman.

2) UFactor of .28 or lower with double pane glass

3) air leakage rate on double hung of a .05 or lower

4) DP rating of 50 or higher

Secondary features
Foam filled frame
Composite meeting rail reinforcement ( not always necessary)
Composite spacer; although a true stainless steel spacer is certainly acceptable

Last but not least, an actual window contractor that knows what he is doing and not a family friend or "jack of all trades handyman" . Installation is paramount.

Windows on Washington

#3 Post by Windows on Washington »

What model from Home Depot? The Simonton 7500 isn't bad but I agree with everything that MasterExt says.

rajsir

#4 Post by rajsir »