Make or buy?

DIY - If Your Bound & Determined
dfdaly

Make or buy?

#1 Post by dfdaly »

My Sweetheart has decided that she wants lites installed on the sides of our front door (rough out ax. 10-11" x 80"). Since these don't have to be functional, do I dare try to buy just the glass and frame (case) the windows myself, or should I buy pre-mfgd. and go from there? I have a fair degree of acquired skill as a finish carpenter, and the appropriate tools. In addition, should I look at tempered/tempered thermo/Lexan (to keep out night crawlers) or what?
Many thanks,
Dave
Houston, TX

johnmr12

#2 Post by johnmr12 »

Dave, with your carpentry skills, you should frame the openings first, then order your glass to fit. You can put up temporary plywood until your glass is ready. The reason you will have to wait a couple of days for the glass is because it has to be tempered. Be sure to order your glass slightly smaller than the exact opening. 1/4" should be fine. There are some really nice looking glass patterns out there that shouldn't cost an arm and a leg. One of the most popular patterns for door sidelites is something called "gluechip". Ask your glass supplier to show you samples.
Learn how to install vinyl replacement windows. Visit http://www.how-to-install-windows.com.

dfdaly

Make or Buy?

#3 Post by dfdaly »

Johnmr12:
thanks very much for your input -- it's MOST appreciated.
D

Guy

#4 Post by Guy »