Does Alside make any good window? Okna Starmark?

Ask replacement window questions & get answers!
rroselxx

Does Alside make any good window? Okna Starmark?

#1 Post by rroselxx »

I have been getting quotes from a number of dealers. Includes 8 sliders, replace picture window and 2 casements with a patio door, large picture window with windows on each side possibly operational for ventilation.

I was considering Alside 'Preservations windows', but when I started researching the brand online, I am seeing many negative opinions and complaints on Alside windows in general.

Salesman tries to tell me those complaints are for low end Alsides (Sheffields, etc), and that the Preservations are very good. I tend to think that a company that makes junk in almost all of their lines of windows will also make junk in the 'high end' one. Am I wrong? I am just learning what to look for here, and don't want to make a major costly mistake.

Also seeing lots of recommendations on Okna windows. I have a quote on Okna 'Starmark" windows. What is your opinion on that line? I live in Wisconsin, so cold is definitely a factor in choosing new windows. Would appreciate any help I can get.

TheWindowNerd

Re: Does Alside make any good window? Okna Starmark?

#2 Post by TheWindowNerd »

I tend to agree with your thinking about a companies quality orientation be universal.

The Starmark is an excellent choice.

Windows on Washington

#3 Post by Windows on Washington »

The Preservation, unless something has changed, was and Sheffield that was loaded up with some different options and aesthetics.

Fundamentally though, the two windows are the same so if there is bad press on the Sheffield, you could likely apply that to the Preservation.

Starmark is a solid window as anthony mentioned. Different material than vinyl and usually at a bit different price point as a result.

rroselxx

#4 Post by rroselxx »