Should I even consider Window World Replacements

Share your experiences with others
Suling01

Should I even consider Window World Replacements

#1 Post by Suling01 »

I am very very new at this. Need to replace 31 windows. Received a quote from Window World for Comfort 6000 windows and Thompson Creek. Big difference in cost. Would appreciate any info -- should I even consider buying Window World or run from these windows. What I have now MUST BE REPLACED. The house was built around 1934 and still have
the original windows with the old silver storm windows. Help anyone!

Randy

Re: Should I even consider Window World Replacements

#2 Post by Randy »

If you only intend to stay in the house for a very short time, Window World might suffice. Otherwise, I'd recommend taking a look at some other options. I have heard of Thompson Creek, but know nothing of their products and pricing.

If you are in the Washington DC area, there is a local pro here, Windows on Washington, that should be consulted. He offers a variety of products, one of which is sure to fit your needs and budget. If you'll find one of his posts, there is a "contact" button at the bottom that will get you to him.

If you're not in the DC area, let us know where you live and we'll try to guide you through the product options.

Skydawggy.

#3 Post by Skydawggy. »

Thompson Creek is a decent window. It does have what I would consider a design flaw in that it uses an 80's style pocket sill. Problem with the pocket sill is it drains pollen and atmosheric debris though the sill, in to the window extrusion and then out of the weep holes this can eventually lead to the drain path becoming clogged with crude.

Before you decide, I'd get an estimate on Simonton, Softlite, Okna and/or Gorell. All are available in the DC area. As Randy mentioned Windows on Washington would be my first contact.

mjc

#4 Post by mjc »