New Windows Plus Siding

Share your experiences with others
houseinneed

New Windows Plus Siding

#1 Post by houseinneed »

I need new windows and doors, live near the Gulf Coast (hurricanes) and want to replace the siding on the house at the same time. Although I have some past experience in the design of new and renovated homes, that was before Vinyl became the standard for residential construction, so all of my references are outdated. I have a series of questions and have only just begun the shopping process; my hopes being to not waste time with dead ends.

Brands: The options seem endless - Simonton, Pella, Anderson, Nt Window, WinCore, Alside, Comfort World, Silverline, Lincoln, HomeCraftsman, Jeldwen, Builers First Choice, Champion - and I have no concept of what should be taken off of the list. I have heard and read horror stories about Anderson and a local company (Gulf Coast Windows). Price is also a factor - I can't break the bank, but I don't want cheap.

Storm: Having been through 2 majors storms in my life (Alicia and Ike) and a false alarm (Rita) and having boarded up windows those and other times, I don't want to do that. Unless the price differential is just huge, I will likely get the storm option unless I hear that they are not dependable.

Installers: I take it the pros on this board are installers and would assume there is an industry rating system. How do I know a company is any good?

Siding: I need new siding, but worry that companies that do both won't do either as well as a company that specializes on one or the other. Is this a legitimate concern? On the other hand, the coordination of one to the other is critical.

Windows on Washington

Re: New Windows Plus Siding

#2 Post by Windows on Washington »

Two words....new construction.

If you replacing the siding and windows at the same time, you absolutely should go with new construction (nailing flange) window.